PDA

View Full Version : How should I go about investing this?

DWarrior
03-18-2005, 03:06 PM
I'm currently 19 years old, freshman at a community college, trying to save money to afford a real school (parents refuse to help financially in any way). I started playing poker senior year in high school, and have recently been making decent money, enough to afford entertainment and some savings. I'm trying to save about 10% of every winning session to invest.

While I'm stashing money away from poker, how should I go about investing it? I know it doesn't make sense to buy securities with every $50 I win, since the comission cost per trade will kill all the profit I make, but perhaps going in blocks of $2,000 would make sense. Once I save $10,000 or so, I think I'll read and learn enough to start investing intelligently.

While I'm saving, would it be wise to buy Mutual Funds, Indicies, or a DRIP in a large company? I'm a little turned off by Mutual Funds, since it seems like everybody and their uncle is investing in them.

Basically, does it make sense to invest in these things while I'm saving up to start a real portfolio, or will the fees eat up any % I stand to gain?

Thanks.

StoneRose
03-18-2005, 06:36 PM
I think there are several tracks you can take here if you are serious about wanting to invest. The most important thing is that you take the time to learn the basics of investing.

Start Here: http://www.fool.com/school/basics/basics.htm?source=InvAg

read the articles.

Then read Peter Lynch's book, "One up on Wall Street"

Compare brokers and look for the one with the most services you will need, but the cheapest price per trade.

Ameritrade is my favorite (actually I use Freetrade, but it's not a good site for beginners), but if you think you will be investing small amounts regularly, you may want to try www.sharebuilder.com (http://www.sharebuilder.com)