PDA

View Full Version : any electricians here?

mostsmooth
03-16-2005, 08:11 PM
having a problem with a circuit
three prong outlets:
i measure hot(black)and neutral(white) and get about 100vac
i measure the hot and ground and i get 120vac
i measure neutral to ground (just out of curiousity) and get about 3vac
nothing (no two prong appliance, charger, anything), i plug into the outlets works, and the breaker isnt tripping
im no electrician, but ive never seen something like this
what could cause this problem?

LAGmaniac
03-16-2005, 08:20 PM
Can you plug a desk lamp into the outlet? A light bulb will run on less than 110 volts but many other appliances will not. You probably have either a loose or bad connection in the neutral somewhere, but I'm no expert. That neutral to ground voltage is too high that's for sure.

mostsmooth
03-16-2005, 08:22 PM
i can plug a lamp in if i wanted i suppose. will it tell me anything? i already know im only getting 100v from the outlet
?

LAGmaniac
03-16-2005, 08:35 PM
Well it would just confirm that the problem is indeed low voltage, I was under the impression you weren't sure. If you are sure then the first thing you can check is the voltage between the hot and neutral that connenct to the outlet and see if the bad connection is there. If that doesn't work you should check the neutral bus bar at the breaker box and make sure there are no loose connections there. Also look for any blackened areas that would indicate a loose connection.

mostsmooth
03-16-2005, 08:52 PM
update
i turned the breaker off then back on(it wasnt tripped), voila, now im getting 120 from all the outlets on the circuit
whats up with that?
more update, prior to turning the breaker off then on, i took the plates off all the outlets to look at the wiring. one of the outlets looks like a child wired it.