PDA

View Full Version : Since there are so many physics guys up right now.......

wacki
03-14-2005, 02:56 AM
Please explain this to me.

I recently attended a seminar on laser cooling/fountain clocks.

Question #1) How do you get sodium or cesium (which are both solids at room temperature) to be a gas at 1 nano Kelvin.

Question #2) Bose-Einstein condensation, what is this super atom? Did all of the nuclei become one? I did some googling, but couldn't find a clear answer.

YourFoxyGrandma
03-14-2005, 03:01 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Question #1) How do you get sodium or cesium (which are both solids at room temperature) to be a gas at 1 nano Kelvin.

[/ QUOTE ]

I was just wondering that.

Thythe
03-14-2005, 03:13 AM
I'm no physics expert but did some searching and found various interesting stuff on these topics. No mention of the actual answers you seek, though.

nothumb
03-14-2005, 03:38 AM
1. Obviously you need to compress the Kelvin quotient to compensate for the density of a sodium atom and multiply the exponential doohickey by the quotient of mass versus the number of electrons in the third ring of my Prince Albert.

2. Suck my dick.

NT

ClaytonN
03-14-2005, 03:42 AM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

I hear this is a great place to find chicks.

wacki
03-14-2005, 03:43 AM
Hey, you should check out the faucet thread. My question is very innocent compared to that one.

wacki
03-14-2005, 03:46 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I hear this is a great place to find chicks.

[/ QUOTE ]

Since you mention it, I actually did find one there. She was serving the wine. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

And no, I'm not kidding. She has a degree in graphic design and can't find a job /images/graemlins/frown.gif, so I told her not to worry and I would take care of her. /images/graemlins/grin.gif

ClaytonN
03-14-2005, 03:48 AM
Oh, man.... Hahaha /images/graemlins/grin.gif

I actually considered the irony if you actually picking up a chick there. Oh, the hilarity /images/graemlins/tongue.gif

ClaytonN
03-14-2005, 03:49 AM