PDA

View Full Version : The best way to learn?

Onveric
03-11-2005, 03:18 PM
Hi,

So I've been playing poker now for about 3 months on and off, and am a solid 3/4 BB ring player at 0.5/1 on party. Then I started playing SnG's and found them much more interesting than the ring game and proceeded break even/slightly + or so over the last few months.

While my sample size is too small to really tell how Im playing what are some good ways to get better. I read 2+2 often(including the greatly helpful 10+1 guide) and go back and look at hands I lost but I can't help but wonder if theres better way to learn the material and get better at beating these games.

Are there specific books that anyone believes relate greatly to making the jump for basic SnG player to good SnG player?

Is it advisible to look for a mentor or some more experienced friends and get them to comment on your play/help you?

If you were going to go back to when you started playing SnG's whats the one thing you wish you have learned or done earlier?

Any information and help are much appreciated, and I stand in awe of some of the deep analysis I see on this board every day.

Onv

citanul
03-11-2005, 03:40 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Hi,

So I've been playing poker now for about 3 months on and off, and am a solid 3/4 BB ring player at 0.5/1 on party. Then I started playing SnG's and found them much more interesting than the ring game and proceeded break even/slightly + or so over the last few months.

[/ QUOTE ]

Good. That's why many people switch.

[ QUOTE ]
While my sample size is too small to really tell how Im playing what are some good ways to get better. I read 2+2 often(including the greatly helpful 10+1 guide) and go back and look at hands I lost but I can't help but wonder if theres better way to learn the material and get better at beating these games.

[/ QUOTE ]

Play, post, read, think, repeat.

[ QUOTE ]