PDA

View Full Version : overlay and pot odds????

mike1270
03-11-2005, 12:52 PM
hi

i am new to poker and am not sure how much overlay is enough to not fold a drawing hand. for example i have gutshot draw to the nuts and the pot is laying me 10.5-1. i believe this is the breakeven odds for this situation. if i am up against may players there will be plenty of extra bets to collect on the river(overlay) if my card comes--right?? but if there is only one other player aren't i essentialy making a breakeven bet?? i don't really want to make even money bets right?? --because i lose to the rake and only breakeven in the long run!!
now if i am drawing to a gut shot straight that isn't the nuts because there are 3 to a flush on the board shouldn't i be looking for better than 10.5-1 to bet/call??
also--if i bet/call very marginal situations(slightly better than breakeven) in theory i should show a profit over the long run but have a greater varience in my chip stack??
if i wait for better situations(more overlay) i will win less but have less variance in my chip stack--right??
so how much overlay is enough in these drawing hands??

k_squared
03-11-2005, 02:17 PM
you seem to have answered your own question! Enough is enough to pay you off when the rake is taken out. If you are getting the odds to play a hand then you should play it. You only need a significant overlay when you are using implied odds to justify your call. Also, it is easier to just count the pot with the rake taken out and use that as your count of how much money is in the pot.

With weaker hands you need more overlay... with stronger ones you need less...

good luck
-k_squared

mike1270
03-12-2005, 03:18 AM
thanks for the reply but i don't think i answered my own Ques. i will try to make it clearer.