PDA

View Full Version : Ever get crap for being an "internet" player from live players?

Daliman
03-11-2005, 02:59 AM
I played a hand earlier today in a live 10-20 game at Trump, IN, after a tournament just for some fun, and hadn't been getting any hands to play with in a VERY weak/passive ABC game. I had been talking a bit with the guys next to me, and they asked me what I do for a living, and I said poker, they said where, and I said online, and a few eyes rolled, a few questions were asked, standard stuff, no biggie. I had yet to win a pot in a hour of play and only seeing 3 flops, so after looking at about 18 straight Double down hands, T8h UTG looked like a monster to me, especially since 3 were up from their chairs. Anyways, 3 see flop of T94, one heart. The BB bets out,( an ok player who tried to be kinda tricky it seemed) I raise, and we're heads up on the turn, which I was ready to check unless it was a J, 8, or 7, since he called me so fast,(I don't consider myself a great limit player, btw). Anyways, it comes 8, 2 clubs on board, and He checks it to me, I bet, and he raises me. Now, the only times I'd seen him raise before he had a set, a straight, and a flush, so I was obviously worried about QJ, T9, or any set, but I play bad, so after thinking awhile, I called. The river came out a 3, and he bet out confidently again. I really wasn't thrilled and contemplated folding, but I knew Ed Miller would be furious at me and made a crying call. He calls out "One pair" and rolls QQ and I am happy.

So as I'm raking in the pot, a guy about 65 years old or so says something to the effect of "Why the hell didn't you raise it on the turn? I can tell you're an internet player." I showed restraint (REALLY!), and replied I thought QJ or a set was a strong possibility from his previous play, and in any case I didn't figure him for as strong a pocket hand as QQ, which made the read all the more difficult for me, and what's more, I play bad.