PDA

View Full Version : The IRS, poker taxes on satellites, online gambling, and you!

Lottery Larry
03-08-2005, 06:36 PM
Before I say anything else: I AM NOT A TAX PROFESSIONAL! If you fill out your taxes based solely on this information from my post, you deserve whatever you might get.

----------
Due to some other debates in threads about the tax liability of satellite wins- when you don't win cash, but a token/voucher that must be exchanged for the next satellite such as the WSOP- and some info renodoc sent me, I decided to check with the real authorities.

I called the IRS number on the website and eventually got connected to someone who was their "gambling expertise". I gave her the scenario renodoc and I used:

Player A buys into a $200 satellite for the WSOP and wins a $10,000 entry into the big tourney. He then plays the WSOP tourney, busting out without winning a prize.
Does he report:
A) $200 loss.
B) $200 loss, $10,000 win and then $10,000 loss
C) Something else

(I also mentioned other, lower satellite setups, that would never require a W2-G for the cash equivilent)

She eventually told me that, if the satellite prize can not be traded for a cash prize- if you are forced to either buy in to the bigger tournament or forfeit the "prize" entry fee that you won in the satellite- then there is no "fair market value" from the satellite prize.

Therefore, neither the satellite "win", nor the bigger tourney entry fee "loss", is reported on your income return. Only the initial $200 entry free is reported as a miscellaneous gambling deduction, subject to all of the other restrictions on recreational gambling.

If you won money in the bigger satellite, you'd report a $200 cost and a $x.xx gain from whatever the prize money was. If you won cash plus the buy-in token in the satellite, the cash would be reported as miscellaneous income.

--------------
Other gambling information from the IRS site:

Publication 529 - Page down to the gambling deductions section