PDA

View Full Version : SNG bubble strategy

betgo
03-07-2005, 03:47 PM
I am a semipro to pro MTT player, but I haven't been doing that well in SNGs. I think my problem is that I have not been playing enough attention to the bubble.

There was a Card Player article by Lee Jones on folding into the money that was criticized here, but it helped me.

I think you almost have to play SNGs like a Step tournament where 3 places advance. Once you get to the top 3, then you can open up. I have found playing tighter near the bubble and even quite a ways before the bubble works better. I was blowing fairly big stacks on EV+ plays where I would bust out or close. You don't want to play weak tight, but I think you need to be real aware of not blowing a spot in the top 3.

beeyjay
03-07-2005, 05:15 PM
I think you're thinking is exactly right that you need to essentially treat it as a step tourney where 3 advance. Sngs to me really are two part tourneys. the pre and post money. Maybe even 3 part if you consider the 1st part where you are hardly playing anything as seperate from the bubble.

I don't exactly remember the problems this forum had with the lee jones article, but as a regular reader here who has some recollection of that article, I think the biggest problem would be with the ease he describes sliding into the money. There are those sngs where you can literally fold into the money. However at least at the 30s and up, you are more often than not going to have to make a stand and push at some point. He made it out to sound much more like other people would go out so just sit back and relax.

You sound like you have the right idea though when you say that you should really be playing for the top 3. In my opinion this means folding in some slightly EV+ situations concerning your chips because that play is probably EV+ for your actual money.