PDA

View Full Version : A simple pre flop scenario.

Jeff W
03-06-2005, 04:52 AM
Party Poker 5/10 Hold'em (5 handed)

Preflop: Hero is BB with 9s, 9d.
UTG (Mr. PFR=19) raises, MP calls, Button calls, SB calls, Hero 3-bets...

I believe that this is a high variance, but +EV play.

What are your thoughts?

adamstewart
03-06-2005, 12:15 PM
So 4 others are in this pot, and you're out of position to all of them.

While I believe it is likely you may have the best hand at this point (supporting a "raise"), I think that being so out of position with a hand that is VERY susceptible to overcards negates this edge.

I'm not experienced (at all) in SH play, but I don't think this is the "correct" play. (If it is, then 3-betting pocket 2's-9's should be just as "correct").

Adam

ctv1116
03-06-2005, 12:36 PM
Just call. 3 betting keeps everyone in for at least the turn, and its extremely unlikely that no one will hit, and its unlikely anyone's gonna lay down top pair post flop with the a 3-betted pot. You're basically playing for set value, which isn't worth the 20% pot equity you're getting.

Jeff W
03-06-2005, 04:30 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm not experienced (at all) in SH play, but I don't think this is the "correct" play. (If it is, then 3-betting pocket 2's-9's should be just as "correct").

[/ QUOTE ]

Would you 3-bet JJ in this spot? How about TT? 3-betting JJ is correct, but that doesn't imply that 3-betting 22 is correct.

Yes, your hand is very susceptible to overcards, but you make money on every raise that goes in as long as you have an equity edge. The same is not true of 22. Pocket nines often wins unimproved.

Nate tha' Great
03-06-2005, 04:44 PM