PDA

View Full Version : Open Raising in PL - Is it ever incorrect?

salloch
03-04-2005, 12:54 PM

Disclaimer: It there is a great thread on this, please point me to it. I've searched, but the terms are so common that I don't get anything useful. Also, this may be one of those topics that are so obvious no one ever discusses them. If so I apologize, I'm a newbie.

Playing Pot Limit Hold 'em on-line. It's folded to you. You have whatever you consider a starting hand for that position. Do you always open raise? Strategic Benefits as I see them:

-You can pick up the blinds
-Your hand is theoretically unlimited, while any callers or raisers have limited hands.
-You can fire on the flop and stand a good chance of picking up the pot, even if you miss it completely.
-It will disguise your nuts better when you have them, insureing you get action on you AA KK hands.
-even if the other players know what you're doing, how do they defend agains it?

Drawbacks
-You will act first on folloiwng rounds (unless the blinds call) But you can fire a max bet relatively cheaply here and either take the pot down or run away.
-People may realize what your doing and play back at you, but is this really much of a problem? It's not NL. You can call and take a flop without getting that much of your stack comitted.
-You may chase out callers when you have hands that like a multi-way pot. However, you never know how many callers are coming, and no matter how many callers you get, if you hit your hand, you will make a lot more than if you just limped.

Obviously I think this is a "dominant" strategy. Can I live a happy life playing this way, or are there some huge hazzards that I'm missing?

djr
03-04-2005, 01:09 PM
honestly, no idea. Why don't you try it out on a few thousand hands and let us know how it goes. /images/graemlins/laugh.gif

Ghazban
03-04-2005, 01:14 PM