PDA

View Full Version : Overpair with TT

jasonHoldEm
03-04-2005, 06:49 AM
Hi guys,

I'm still learning my way around the NL tables (currently playing NL50 at Party). Most of you probably know me, I've been a successful 3/6 player for a couple years now but have grown weary of the grind at the limit tables and have decided to move over to NLHE.

This hand came up and I wasn't sure of the best course of action. So many different possibilities (i.e. could have limped in instead of raising, amount of my bet on the flop, etc). I thought there were a number of interesting concepts at work so I'd like to get some feedback.

NL50 (10 handed)

I have around $75 in my stack. Villian in this hand has about the same size stack, he's been somewhat tight, but is willing to make some moves once he enters a pot.

Folded to me in MP I open for $2 with red tens, villan is right behind me and calls, everyone else folds.

FLOP: 2,4,9 (two-tone, I have the T of the flushing suit)

I bet $5 (the pot basically), villian min-raises to $10.

What's the best course of action from this point forward?

Some thoughts:

I will say the min-raise is not typical for him, usually he was putting in half-pot/pot sized bets and raises (so a more typical raise for him in this spot would have been maybe $15).

As far as his range of hands go: He would have re-raised preflop with big pairs and probably 50/50 with AK. He would have called with big suited aces, probably most suited broadway connectors (KQs, QJs, maybe JTs). He would have called with most other pairs (although 44 and 22 are somewhat less likely I think). Given his unusual min-raise and his history of making some post-flop moves I wasn't sure where I was at in the hand. I easily could be looking at baiting raise with 99, but just as easily he might be fishing with something like a strong suited ace looking to maybe pick up the pot or get a free card to his flush draw with overcards. Lots of possibilities...

Thanks,
Jason

jasonHoldEm