PDA

View Full Version : any good way to move up?

tommo
03-04-2005, 03:00 AM
Hey guys, I'm not going to quote numbers because everybody just gets bothered by that including myself.

Right now I am beating the .50$ BB games, I'm at about 20k hands and I pull a very good win rate. However, I can only play about 15 hours a week, I'm a student and have a lot of classes.

I know there are some calculations for what kind of bankroll you need to play at the 2$ BB based on variation and expected win rate. But I don't know what my variation or expected win rate would be at the higher Buyins.

So the essential question is. How does expected win rate/variance at lower stakes transform into win rate/variation at higher stakes and How much money should I have in my bankroll before I try to move up stakes? (I'm trying to pay for college debts and that is why I'd like to move up quickly)?

Does anybody have some quick numbers they can quote me?
ie: "I played 20K hands at .50 BB and won xBB/100 hands and now I play at 2$ BB and win yBB/100 hands"

edge
03-04-2005, 03:05 AM
Well, for one thing, have more than 5 buy-ins if you plan to move up levels. I didn't, and it didn't turn out great. I'd say 15 for the new level is fine, if you're ok with moving back down if you hit a rough stretch to start.

If you're a consistent winner at whatever level you play, try moving up. You won't know if you can beat the next level without trying, so go for it.

jimdmcevoy
03-04-2005, 03:44 AM
I can't say exactly how much, but generally win rate/variance goes down as you move up limits. At the same time though, you are becoming a better player, so it's hard to say.

FWIW here is my system:

have at least 10 buy-ins, or else drop down limits.

If I get up to 20 buy-ins at my current limit and 2 buy-ins at the next highest limit, move up limits.

The reason for 2 buy-ins as opposed to 1 is that it gives you a bit more of a chance to get accustomed to the higher limits.

jdl22
03-04-2005, 04:07 AM