PDA

View Full Version : Operation Check Raise needs your support

Nate_Dogg
03-03-2005, 03:15 PM
I have been playing NL ring games for a couple of years now in Tunica, home games, and now more frequently on-line. Live action I usually play $1-$2 and on-line I 4-table 6-max NL25 games. I have been winning fairly regularly and have a decent grasp of most of the concepts of NL. However, I don't check raise much at all. In fact my PT stats show I only do it 5 or so times per 1000 hands! /images/graemlins/blush.gif I feel like I'm missing out on the use of a major NL weapon.

<font color="red"> Can someone post some hands (real or theoretical) that present opportune times to check raise.</font> I did a search and only found a couple of examples and they were more questionable situations. I am looking for very general/obvious times to go for the check raise. Any hand postings or general comments are greatly appreciated.

-Thanks

ihardlyknowher
03-03-2005, 03:28 PM
When you have the best hand and a maniac is acting behind you. Or when you have the best hand on a very dry flop.

lucas9000
03-03-2005, 03:36 PM
i very very rarely check-raise in no limit. often it just shuts the bettor down and all you get is the bet he put in. if i have a big hand, i just lead out in the hope that someone also has something and will give me action. with a big hadn i'd rather play a big pot. of course there are times when i will do it, but it's much less than i'll do it in a limit game.

ace_in_the_hole
03-03-2005, 04:23 PM
I think that the check raise is in its most effective form in a limit holdem game because in no limit, the re-raise usually stops the better, but in limit it is one mroe bet and they usually ahve the odds to call, and pay you off.

bobbyi
03-03-2005, 04:31 PM
[ QUOTE ]
When you have the best hand and a maniac is acting behind you.

[/ QUOTE ]
If he's a true maniac, you'll make more money by betting out (maybe underbetting the pot) and letting him raise so you can reraise.