PDA

View Full Version : Why are we different 2

Ryan_21
09-17-2002, 03:03 PM
In my post "Why are we diffenent" I discussed people who put no effort what so ever into poker. They have no care to better themselves and think poker is ALL luck.

Now I want to ask a question about a different spectrum of players. These players seem to be in the middle of good and bad. Lets call them average.

They think they know a lot about poker but what they know is not very relavent. To put it lightly they concentrate on the wrong things.

When I was a freshman in college I learned about a concept that was suppose to help college students make better use of their time. It was called "doing your ABC's" What this means is when you have multiple tasks, the most important tasks are A's, then B's, with C's being the least important. And the idea was to get the A's done first.

How does this tie in with pokerplayers? On this board and in cardrooms you see players who ask the wrong questions, study the wrong material, and concentrate on the wrong stuff. They ask/learn/concentrate about bankroll, money management, run simulations on hands, etc. In a sense they are only concentrating on the C's. What makes a player concentrate on the C's, instead of the really important stuff like theory and strategy?

All comments welcome,

Ryan_21

Jedi Poker
09-17-2002, 04:28 PM
A simple reason could be that they simply lack experience. As a result, they still do not know what they do not know. They also do not know that they do not know. Once they have gained enough experience and have immersed themselves in the literature, then they will begin to know what they do not know. More importantly, they will begin to know that they do not know....hopefully....for their own bankroll's sake.