PDA

View Full Version : What am I in for?

tripemonkey
03-01-2005, 09:42 PM
Hello all.

I've got sort of a general question, but first I'll give a little personal poker history.

I've been playing small stakes (2/4 - 4/8) hold 'em for about 4-5 months now, and am holding my own... barely. When I started out, I went about $500 in the hole over the course of the first 5 or 6 games - which was pretty much just due to lack of skill on my part. I reassessed, got a couple of books, and stuck to it, and proceeded to make about $1300 over the next 2 months or so (i.e., $800 profit). That was pretty much the peak for me. Since then lost almost all of that, and I'm pretty much dead even right now - even though I'm like a zillion times better than when I first started out.

I think I'm playing pretty good hands, and I think I'm playing them decently - albeit certainly not perfectly. I know a few things about pot-odds and protecting my hand. Although I usually can't, for example, say EXACTLY how many bets are in the pot, I'm not very far off, so I don't think many mistakes I'm making there are just totally tanking me.

I guess my question is: Does anyone out there have any experience with what to expect in small-stakes hole 'em? Is this to be expected? Are these kinds of swings normal, or do they indicate that I likely have some kind of serious flaw(s) in my game?

Every once in a while I'm beaten by someone who I feel is a superior player. Most of the time, however, I feel I'm one of the best players at the table - if not THE best. I'm not trying to be arrogant; the vast majority of the time I can spot serious errors in most of the other players' games.

The thing is, I'm getting killed by the guy who draws out on me with the 94o. Sure, sometimes the odds make it worth it for him to stay in after the flop - but HE doesn't know that! I do what I can to protect my hand, but sheeeesh.