PDA

View Full Version : Going Pro - Any Advice?

PokerAce
03-01-2005, 04:26 PM
I've turned in my 2-weeks notice at my fulltime job and I will be playing poker for a living starting on March 11. I don't need anyone trying to convince me not to do this, as I've already gone through that process.

What I'm looking for is advice from those who already made the jump. Anything you can think of, I'd like to hear it.

I'm currently at the $3/6 limit. I 6-table with a BB/100 around 2 or so. I have a bankroll of over 700 BB with a nice rakeback deal set up. I've come up with a schedule I'm going to follow. I'll play a 2-3 hour session in the late morning/early afternoon, and a 3-5 hour session after 9 or 10 at night, for a minimum of 5 days a week. This should give me approximately 9000-13000 hands per week. I'll also be moving up in limits as soon as I get a little more money saved up.

For you naysayers, yes, I know this is risky. However, it will be easy for me to find a new job in my field if this falls through.

You can read more about it in my blog, which is linked in my profile.

johnnybeef
03-01-2005, 04:30 PM
good luck

mantasm
03-01-2005, 04:37 PM
I'd recommend developing a system for paying yourself. I like to top off my checking account every week to a certain level, regardless of how I did at the tables that week. This helps me not care about results very much. 700BB seems a little thin to be living off of, too, so I'd work on building that, but you're probably doing that anyway.

STLantny
03-01-2005, 04:40 PM
I just turned. Not that my 20k a year college job was too terribly hard to leave. But just play a lot, is about all i can think of. You obv know what you are doing. make sure you get your hours in, win or lose. And dont let hte winning or the losing affect how much you play, at all, ever. Work on playing the best you can, for as long as you can, and detatch yourself from the winning and hte losing.

beachbum
03-01-2005, 04:42 PM