PDA

View Full Version : First 2+2 book`

pshabi
02-28-2005, 10:48 PM
I've been browsing this particular forum for a few months, but I've made just a few posts.

I've been playing seriously for about 6 months now. I'm up, but just had my first losing month at 3/6. Reading the posted hand histories on here made me realize I was lacking something.

Occasionally, I've been on the outside when reading terms such as "pot equity" and others that I've got no experience with. There have also been hands that I've read that have sparked conversations that I would've never thought about on my own.

The turning point was a thread on the regular hold 'em forum about the "worst poker related money spent."

In that thread, almost every book I've read to date was slammed by a 2+2 poster. Books I've read since last summer in order read include:

Ken Warren Teaches Texas Hold'em
Playing Poker Like the Pros (HE only)
Super System (HE only)
Winning Low Limit HE
and
Championship No Limit and Pot Limit HE

(also Poker Wisdom of a Champion and The tao of Poker)

Honestly, I thought 2+2 was a bunch of "snobs" who were drinking the "Kool Aid" together and living in their own little world of "We're better than everyone else."

However, that thread made me realize something. All of these players cannot be wrong.

So, today I got SSHE and have read the first section. I'll be here with many questions while reading the book and I'll be posting hand histories along the way.

Hopefully, I'll become an expert player with the help of the book(s) and you guys. Thanks for reading and I look forward to taking your advice.

Phil

sthief09
02-28-2005, 11:01 PM
yeah, those are some pretty terrible books. for limit hold'em, those first 3 are probably the worst available (super/system only because the blind structure is entirely different than it is now, in that there's only one blind).

we are pretty snobby though about 2+2 being the best, but it's justified

pshabi
02-28-2005, 11:08 PM