PDA

View Full Version : Book for NL. Better book than Harrington's for regular NL?

henkeee
02-28-2005, 04:54 PM
Hi!

I'm looking for a NL book. I'm new to NL, but I don't want easy reading. I want the best NL book! Harrington's seems to be liked by many, but is there a better book if you're not especially interested in tournaments?

/henke

Rudbaeck
02-28-2005, 05:45 PM
Pot Limit & No Limit by Reuben and Ciaffone.
SuperSystem 2, the section by Doyle Brunson.

Both are required reading, but moving from the text to actual application in games can be hard work. Plenty is left for you to work out yourself.

jtnt1096
02-28-2005, 05:59 PM
[ QUOTE ]

Both are required reading, but moving from the text to actual application in games can be hard work. Plenty is left for you to work out yourself.

[/ QUOTE ]

I Agree. Those are the two books I recommend when friends ask about NL cash game books.

maurile
02-28-2005, 06:01 PM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]
Both are excellent, but I wouldn't say they're necessarily better than Harrington's first book (which is very good even if you're not interested in tournaments).

Just read all three.

henkeee
02-28-2005, 07:41 PM
Thanks!

But I'm only going to buy one now, since I also will buy a new
limit book (I will probably play mostly limit in the future too). So, if you would buy only one, which one would it be? Or, what is the main difference between them?

jojobinks
02-28-2005, 07:47 PM
if you're new to nl, i recommend hoh.

maurile
02-28-2005, 07:54 PM
If I could just get one I'd get Harrington's book because it is the most comprehensive of the three. Even though the focus is on tournaments, book 1 is on the early stages of a tournament when you really wouldn't play a particular hand any differently from how you'd play it in a ring game. The Harrington book gives specific advice on pre-flop play, and walks you through the thinking process of how to put people on hands and make proper decisions on each street.