PDA

View Full Version : Antes

Achilles517
09-14-2002, 11:35 PM
I'm a student, and have only been playing poker regularly for a year or so. Some thoughts on the ante structure in low limit stud -

1) I typically play 1-5 at Mohegan, .50 ante, 1 bring in. The ante and rake combined seem high for such a low limit. For a typical 3-6 Hold 'Em game, you have 1 BB and 1 SB ($4 total) every 10 hands, but $4 in antes every 8 hands in Stud (not counting forced bring ins). Does the difference between the two make Stud a harder game to earn a net profit? (everything else being equal)

2) The ante for 5-10 Stud is the same - 50 cents. IMO, this makes 5-10 a much more attractive game - same ante structure, with larger payoffs once betting limits double. Is there a catch?

These are just some initial observations, so if I'm blatantly wrong about something, please tell me.

09-15-2002, 01:51 AM