PDA

View Full Version : Feeling pummeled

Zeke
02-28-2005, 03:49 AM
So I've been on a bad run... nothing new it happens all the time, to everyone. But for me, this one has been different. After almost a week of sliding downward, I'm beginning to wonder if it will ever end.

To give you some quick history about myself, I recently graduated from college and decided to play poker for a living for a while. I had been playing sporatically throughout college for about 2 years. Twice I built myself a nice bankroll playing .5/1, but had to stop to concentrate on school. So after I graduated I dove back in and built my bankroll at .5/1 for about 3 weeks until I had enough for 2/4 and have been grinding it out for a month since. I had a great first month and was very happy with my play. I've been disciplined, and had to fight through some nasty downswings. But they never lasted more than a couple of days. The storms could be vicious but they were always pretty short. But now suddenly I feel like the guy with the rain cloud over his head. After nearly a week without a winning day I'm just feeling battered. I've never felt like this before and it really is awful. Now when I sit down for a session I almost expect to lose. I know that I'm a good enough player to win in the long run. I know that I play good poker. But this slide has me feeling almost hopeless. Today was supposed to be the day I really made my comeback and battled out of the funk.. and I'm down another 100 BB... and the feeling is carrying over beyond my sessions. Today I went shopping with my girlfriend and took her to lunch, and all I could think about was getting out of the rut. I didn't have any fun...

Anyways, I'm sure some people will think Im just whining here about my bad fortune. But I honestly am looking for some help here. I feel worn down and depressed.

I see that this post is long and poorly structured, and for that I apologize... but any advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance

Reef