PDA

View Full Version : Cheat sheet for VP$IP, showing what hands he might have?

TenPercenter
02-26-2005, 05:01 AM
It's hard to explain what I want. I might have to make it myself, I but wanted to see if there's something out there already.

When I'm running PT and Gametime+, I show the stats for VP$IP and PreFlop Raise percentage for the opponents. These give me a good idea about what two cards the villain plays, and especially what he raises with.

I can pull out the calculator (I'm not good at on-the-fly math) to see how many hands of the 161 hands 5% is, or 24% etc. But I'd like a chart to tape to the wall that shows what the guy might be holding. Examples: (again, my math is bad, but you get the idea):

===========
3%...Group 1 (AA to AKs)
11%..Group 1 and all pocket pairs, or Group 1-3

etc

I saw something like this explained in text on a PokerEDGE page, but I'd like a better, concise and organized chart or crib sheet.

[ QUOTE ]
Lets see how to use the above table to analyze a tight player that shows a VP$IP number of 18%, and a PreFlop Raise of 3.5%. To make 18% for VP$IP, this player is probably playing Big Pocket Pairs, Big Cards, Other Broadway Cards (suited), and half of the Other Broadway Cards (unsuited). If you add the percentages together, you get 2.26+6.03+1.51+2.26=12.06. Assuming this player calls about half of the small blinds, that adds another 5%. We arrive at 17.06% which is very close to his VP$IP of 18%. His PreFlop Raise of 3.5% indicates that he is probably only raising Big Pocket Pairs, and AK.

[ and here's a chart they display, but not exactly what I want. (http://www.poker-edge.com/stats.php#preflop) ]

[/ QUOTE ]

If you understand what I'm getting at, have you seen such a beast?

Ten

maryfield48
02-26-2005, 06:08 PM
No, but I want it too.

Kovner
02-26-2005, 08:10 PM