PDA

View Full Version : Job Interview re. Game Theory

That guy
02-25-2005, 10:38 PM
So I am thinking about submitting my resume for this job where the description says: To be considered you must possess: "...Strong Quant/Qual/Game Theory skills"

I believe I have solid quant skills but I never studied formal game theory. All I know is what is in Theory of Poker and I know what the prisoners dilemma is... Can anyone direct me to something useful? Either the name of the standard b-school text on game theory or something along those lines...

thanks

jtr
02-25-2005, 11:09 PM
"Fun and Games" by Ken Binmore is a good readable intro. (This text is more serious in intention than the title makes it sound, don't worry.)

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0669246034/qid=1109387257/sr=2-1/ref=pd_bbs_b_2_1/103-1579860-1035050

TStoneMBD
02-26-2005, 09:51 AM
what kind of job is this? im intrigued.

elmitchbo
02-26-2005, 11:06 AM
is the prisoner's dilemma part of game theory? i studied it extensively in economics. i always found it fascinating in it's application to business.

i'd like to learn about game theory too. and i second the question about what job you're applying for... sounds like it could be fun.

That guy
02-26-2005, 11:19 AM
what kind of job is this? im intrigued.

hedge fund analyst (long/short equities)

flub
02-26-2005, 01:19 PM
They're gonna be much more interested in quant. they probably just added on game theory as an afterthought. It's interesting stuff though so more power to ya if you study it. Quant though 95% quant.

-flub

That guy
02-26-2005, 01:29 PM
Quant likely means financial statement analysis and some modern portfolio theory stuff... I am very good at that stuff...

I might try the book listed above, anyone else have a good book recco on game theory? A good undergrad book is fine.... I want basic concepts and a readable text, not arcane mathematical derivations.

Monty Cantsin
02-26-2005, 01:39 PM