PDA

View Full Version : Need pointers on more aggresive play...newb here...

rockythecat99
02-24-2005, 11:07 PM
Ok first off I am new to the game. I am in my second month of playing. I played mostly ring games where I did very well(2 grand made so far /images/graemlins/smile.gif ) . Then after reading sshe i bought Harrington's book absolutely loved it and have been playing tourneys for the past week about 8 maybe total. I did play a free roll before I read the book which I won. and made a final table of another free roll. This week I moved on to real money tourneys. I played the pacific 30+3 and finished 9th,63th,72 I think. Been playing the 10+1 pokerstars and have finished 73rd, 98 and 45th I think.

Anyway point of this is that as you can see I get to the top 100 but are pretty short stacked at that point where I have to make tough decisions and pick my spots going all in. I pretty much follow Harrington's tight style,(god please take out that second book soon). I want to know how can I be more aggressive. What book if any will help me with this or what are any pointers you guys have that will help me out with this. I am sick of getting to the top 100 to only be short stacked. Thanks in advance.

bmxreed36
02-25-2005, 09:36 AM
This is a part of my game that I've just recently been working on also. The middle stages until about the money is where most people will either acquire a very nice stack or be nearly blinded out. Remember that those few times that you place very high will wipe out the times you didn't make the money and then some.
My initial tips would be to try to have an above average stack going into this stage. Easier said than done, but I sometimes take a chance or two to double up or win a big pot just to put myself in a spot to become more aggressive.

The later in the tournament it gets, the value of posiiton goes up quite a bit. I think the gap of hands you will play is much wider from early to late position here.