PDA

View Full Version : Best poker books

Percussion
02-24-2005, 02:24 AM
On a previous thread, someone mentioned the books "SSH, ITH, ToP", and the only one I know is Theory of Poker--what are the other two?
(Im a newb to 2+2) :P Thanks

And also, any reccomendations?

DemonDeac
02-24-2005, 02:44 AM
SSH=small stakes holdem, a must read. awesome book
i dont know the other one. cant say ive seen that before

Kevin K.
02-24-2005, 03:02 AM
I believe ITH would be Internet Texas Hold'em by Matthew Hilger.

Kjell201
02-24-2005, 06:30 AM
If you're a new player then get ITH, it's very good for getting started. When you understand everything in it get SSH to really learn how to take advantage of the play at low limits.
SSH can be tough to understand if you haven't read a poker book first, and for that I think ITH is the best.

frank white
02-24-2005, 11:42 AM
small stake hold 'em is the best book ever written (in my opinion) on the subject of texas hold 'em. in order to really benefit from it, you must already have a basic understanding of the game, but it is one of those books you can read and re-read and still learn new things everytime. i couldn't say enough good things about it.

27offsuit
02-24-2005, 01:31 PM
I have the obligatory HEFAP, Caro's and TPFAP.

But, I just recently picked up Harrington on Hold'em, which I only got because a few guys here said it was good. I found it very informative. Still, I think ol'Dan is a 60+ year old mama's boy with no rap and a stiff bill on his hat. I always go back to his 'speech' to Crux upon his 2003 WSOP exit. What a maroon.......talk about stammering jackass. Crux actually gave me a tell about halfway through Dan's rant. His eyes were saying "Get this tool away from me, I just got busted out of my shot at 5 mil."

Also, I just picked up Tournament Poker and the Art of War, which kicks ass. I'd recommend it to anyone. Not big, but big on content.

jojobinks
02-24-2005, 03:01 PM
[ QUOTE ]