PDA

View Full Version : Graduate school

jason_t
02-22-2005, 10:37 PM
Who in the forum is a graduate student or postdoc and can relate to the stress of qualifying exams, thesis writing and so on?

I am a PhD student in mathematics.

The-Matador
02-22-2005, 10:39 PM
I did an M.Phil in philosophy and a Ph.d in mathematical logic and I can relate. It sucks so much. So very, very much.

Hojglad
02-22-2005, 10:55 PM
I am starting my master's in electrical engineering next semester. While I don't have the experience to speak on a personal level about it, everyone I have talked to that has completed their dissertation defense and qualifying exam have nothing positive to say. Most seem to indicate that the qualifying exam is pretty much a survey of everything you have ever learned. They suggest starting to prepare for it roughly 3-4 months in advance. Review all your textbooks from various classes you took at the undergraduate level. As far as the oral defense goes - good luck. From what I hear, you will be asked every professor on the board's favorite trick question over material that you have long forgotten. It's supposed to be like hell, but hotter.

Once again, good luck. Hopefully you won't need it.

kenberman
02-22-2005, 11:21 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I did an M.Phil in philosophy and a Ph.d in mathematical logic and I can relate. It sucks so much. So very, very much.

[/ QUOTE ]

that's funny, I thought you were a lawyer.

Utah
02-22-2005, 11:30 PM
I have an MBA from the University of MN that I did at the same time I had a very stressful strategic planning job. 4 days a week I left the house at 5:30 and got home at 10:00.

It was ridiculous.

The-Matador
02-22-2005, 11:59 PM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

I am. U of Toronto law school. See the thread entitled "What's Your Story" in the THE General forum if you want to know the details.

Dead
02-23-2005, 12:00 AM
[ QUOTE ]
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]