PDA

View Full Version : What do you do with double paired broadways?

DeadManJay
02-22-2005, 03:04 PM
I'm a complete newb to omaha, but I've been testing the waters. This is the question, I hope it's not too dumb...
I was dealt QQJJ in the SB earlier today with a raise before me. What do you do in this situation? Also what do you do with the same cards in LP when you can limp?

BradleyT
02-22-2005, 03:51 PM
In SB I probably call depending on how big the pot is (otherwise fold to a small pot). In LP I call.

Big pairs aren't the same monsters in o/8 as they are in hold em.

djr
02-22-2005, 04:01 PM
against a raise it depends on how many people are in the pot (and thus how big the pot is/will be), the bigger the pot the better your odds. In an unraised pot, I'll limp in late position. With these hands you're looking to flop top set that will improve to a strong boat by the river. The nice thing about these hands is if you miss the flop you can easily bail it. If you hit, the odds a low will also hit are small so you tend to scoop.

lighterjobs
02-22-2005, 04:09 PM
this is an o/8 forum, not omaha high.

DeadManJay
02-22-2005, 04:23 PM
I'm missing your statement, this is an o/8 hand...

Klak
02-22-2005, 04:36 PM
i actaully like to raise with these hands. i wouldnt reraise in this situation but i would take a flop for sure. QQJJ is a strong hand because if you hit well on the flop, you will have a good chance to scoop since there isnt going to be a low hand most of the time.

lighterjobs
02-22-2005, 04:41 PM
oh, you just said omaha hand. the reason it matters is because limit o/8 and plo are two different games where you would treat the hand differently.

johnnybeef
02-22-2005, 04:41 PM
when you are drawing to a high only, you want to get in as cheap as possible and preferably in lp.

lighterjobs
02-22-2005, 04:44 PM
IMO, this isn't a raising hand. i would see a flop cheaply with this.

johnnybeef
02-22-2005, 05:03 PM
[ QUOTE ]

i actaully like to raise with these hands