PDA

View Full Version : Pokerstars Sit and Go Tourneys

The_Model
02-22-2005, 11:51 AM
Hi,

I started playing on Pokerstars and have built a $250 bankroll from $50 playing 5 dollar sngs....(it would be high but I dabble in MTTS as well)...Anyway, I'm wondering what people think about the competition at the 10 dollar level...is it harder? Much harder? Am I ready to make the jump?

Advice appreciated

pokerlaw
02-22-2005, 12:19 PM
hey,
the skill level doesnt change much, even if you venture up to the $20s. give it a try, as it seems that you have a good feel for the pokerstarz format.

Sidekick
02-22-2005, 12:35 PM
Personally I would wait until you have $330 (30 buy ins) before moving up.

I personally use the 50 buy in rule, but 30 is the general rule of thumb.

The competition at the $10 level is harder, but only moderately so.

As to whether you are ready to make the jump, only you can decide that. Some questions to ask yourself might be:
How many SNGs has it taken me to increase my bankroll from $50 to $250?
Am I comfortable putting $11s on the table every time I start up a tournament?
If I move up to the $11s and have a bad run will it bother me to move back down and rebuild or will I start changing my game trying to 'win back' my lost money?
If I move up to the $11s and the competition is better than me can I move back down and work on improving my game or will I insist that I can beat these yahoos and lose my bankroll?

Without having seen numerous hands that you have played in various situations, no one except yourself can really answer the question of whether you are ready to move up in levels.

UMTerp
02-22-2005, 01:49 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Personally I would wait until you have $330 (30 buy ins) before moving up.

[/ QUOTE ]

This is a good rule of thumb, but I've started modifying it a bit in order to help myself move up more quickly, I use something like this:

Say you're trying to move up from the $5.50's to the $11's.

30 buy-ins for the $5.50's = $165.