PDA

View Full Version : Should I play $30+$3 or $20+$2?

quinn
02-21-2005, 04:27 AM
Hey,

I've been playing SNGs for several months now. I started at 10+1, and made profit of about 16 buyins over 180 or so SNGs.
Then I moved to 20+2 and did about 30% ROI over 300 SNGs, playing 2-4 tables at a time.

Then..I quickly moved up to the 30+3 level, and started playing way more tables at the same time. I played up to 8 tables at a time. I played 350 SNGs with only a 13.6% ROI. I began to think that the 30+3 players were dampening the effectiveness of my strategy by simply calling a lot of my all-ins at the end of tournaments. I was also wondering whether it was wise to play 8 at a time in the first place. I stopped, once and for all, the practice of loading up 8 tables at the same time, and trying to get them all done in 45 minutes.

I deemed that I could actually make more money going back to the 20+2 level. I felt like I dominated the 20s consistently, but was grinding to pull profit through 30s.

I moved back to the 20+2 and refined my strategy slightly. After 400 SNGs, 9 SNGs/hour (that means 8 tables quite a bit of the time), I have a 23% ROI.

Now strictly mathematically, a 23% ROI dictates that if I can pull a 15.33% ROI or higher at the $30+$3 level, while playing the same amount of tables per hour, then it would be wise to play $30+$3. (By the way, my bankroll is such that it is not a consideration in this decision).

My thoughts are these:
- Even if I can pull a slightly higher $/hr rate at the 30s, I'm not sure this is the best decision. Variance is bigger at the 30s, since I will have a lower ROI. Big swings are bad for my mind. I am afraid that sometimes they affect my life outside of poker, and that is negative EV in life.

-On the other hand, it seems that I should be able to feel better about big swings by just reveling in my profits.