PDA

View Full Version : Hand that cost me; comments?

Percula
02-20-2005, 05:34 PM
Live MTT, players range from the total newbe to seasoned players.

We are down to 15, hand for hand starts at 13. We are six handed at my table. A strong table with three of the six of regulars at the final table. I have the table chip leader on my right (~T$70K and I have about T$65K we are the two big stacks at the table) and a VERY lucky "chip n a chair" on my left that has come back from 500 just before we went to two tables. Everyone else at the table are getting short stacked or close enough that any action they get in will be for all their chips and they know it. I have also been doing a "count down" to the money (1 thru 10 pay) to increase the bubble fear, "down to 13, 3 more to go before the money! LOL".

Blinds are 3500/7000 with a 500 ante. I am UTG+2. There is 13,500 in the pot. A short stack with 18K pushs all-in from UTG, UTG+1 raises to 40K and I look down and find AK /images/graemlins/heart.gif

I go into the tank, and here is what I am thinking...

1) UTG is short and likely pushing with any ace or any paint.
2) I have played with UTG+1 many times, but have let him get the better of me one than once, pushing me off a better hand.
3) That UTG+1 is calling this with any pair or any ace, likely AT thru AK. That he did not push because he was afraid of me, I was dialing up his number all night out playing him on the flop or turn in every hand he played with me. Or coming over the top of him and making him laydown.
4) That I was either way ahead or in a race.
5) That the only guy likely to call after me is the chip n a chair guy, but he did not have enough to be much of a worry ~10K
6) The only way I see anyone else in the pot is if they have AA or KK.