PDA

View Full Version : Check or bet this turn 15-30 Party

Michael Davis
02-20-2005, 06:25 AM
I'm not too good at this game and maybe this is a simple situation but I eff it up all the time. So help.

I don't have any data on this player and I just joined the table two hands ago.

I threebet a CO raiser with 55 from the button. Flop comes T63 with two clubs and I don't have one. Checkbetcall.

Turn is the K of clubs and it's checked to me. What's my plan for the rest of the hand?

-Michael

bugstud
02-20-2005, 06:41 AM
bet/muck or check/call imo

stoxtrader
02-20-2005, 09:30 AM
this is also opponenet dependant, but my default would be to bet, fold to a c/r and try to take a free showdown. you want to represent the K, and folding middle pairs is a coup.

I would check behind on turn only if I had opponent pegged as someone capable of c/raising the turn on a bluff (maybe 10-20% of opponents in the 15).

sthief09
02-20-2005, 09:49 AM
the reason I don't like checking here is because even if his opponent is behind, he has at least 13 outs to catch up (9 to a chop). logically, I understand what you're saying, but the fact that his opponent is ALWAYS drawing very live makes that a pretty scary free card to give, even if he's against someone who likes to bluff. I also think the times he makes his opponent fold a similar hand like a crubless 66 or 77 makes up for the times he folds to a guy with 4 overcard outs plus 9 to a chop (who owns about 20% of the pot anyway, and more if it's a hand like red QJ)

steveyz
02-20-2005, 10:59 AM
Bet, fold to a check-raise. Check through the river if he calls unless you improve.

hillbilly
02-20-2005, 12:40 PM
preflop:

i'm all for mixing it up, but with no reads on anyone or a specific metagame strategy in mind, i think you are going uphill playing this small pair against a raise here, even in this spot with position.