PDA

View Full Version : EV on a Gut Shot?

Kid Sheleen 05
02-19-2005, 11:59 PM
I ran into this situation a few times this evening. I think the same issues apply to an Ace high straight draw or any single gut shot. I am new to this and if anyone has the patience to follow my analysis and tell me if it holds water or not, I would appreciate it.

Paradise Poker 0.25/0.50 Hold'em (10 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is SB with A/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 5/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
<font color="#666666">4 folds</font>, MP2 calls, MP3 calls, <font color="#666666">1 fold</font>, Hero completes, BB checks.

Flop: (4 SB) J/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 4/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 3/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>

I have broken the EV analysis into three reasonably likely scenarios to calculate implied odds: Passive (Hero check/calls), Moderate (Hero bets/BB calls), and Aggressive (Hero checks/BB raises/Hero reraises).

Passive Analysis

On the flop: Hero checks, BB bets, MP1 calls, MP2 folds, Hero calls.
On the turn: Hero checks, BB bets, MP1 folds, Hero calls.
On the river: Hero checks, BB bets.

At the flop, Hero expects to make an additional investment of 2.5 BB against an expected return of 5.5BB, thus yielding implied pot odds of 1.2:1. This is lower than the odds of drawing the gut shot by the river, which would be about 4.8:1. Thus, the passive approach does not offer a positive expectancy. Hero would need 8 outs to yield a positive expectancy

Moderate Analysis

On the flop: Hero bets, BB calls, MP1 calls, MP2 folds.
On the turn: Hero bets, BB calls, MP1 folds.
On the river: Hero bets, BB calls.