PDA

View Full Version : Frontpage vs Dreamweaver

jokerthief
02-19-2005, 08:33 PM
Ok, I'm trying to get a website up and running and am deciding on what approach to take. I have zero HTML experience whatsoever. From what I have learned thus far, I see my options as being: 1. Do it the hard way with notepad 2. Use a template 3. Use a WYSIWYG program like Frontpage or Dreamweaver. Actually it seem that #2 and #3 are somewhat linked being that the template I have in mind needs one of those programs.

As I have been perusing templates, I have been struck at how canned and crappy they look. Because of this I am leaning toward using Frontpage or Dreamweaver. I would appreciate some advice from people who know something about web design on what would be a better choice given the fact that I am a total n00b. I do plan on learning HTML thouroghly enough to eventually just use a text editor but for now I just want to get a working page up and running then build from there.

I would really appreciate thoughts, opinions, insights.

Thanx

4thstreetpete
02-19-2005, 10:40 PM
Dreamweaver hands down. However it's a lot faster if you do know html too. Dreamweaver is great but there were times when I did had to manually change the code because it was much faster to just edit the html code myself.

DocMartin
02-19-2005, 11:45 PM
Another vote for Dreamweaver. Used to use HoTMetaL but made the switch. It is fairly idiotproof and has more capabilities once you get better with html.

gasoltub
02-20-2005, 01:55 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Ok, I'm trying to get a website up and running and am deciding on what approach to take. I have zero HTML experience whatsoever. From what I have learned thus far, I see my options as being: 1. Do it the hard way with notepad 2. Use a template 3. Use a WYSIWYG program like Frontpage or Dreamweaver. Actually it seem that #2 and #3 are somewhat linked being that the template I have in mind needs one of those programs.