PDA

View Full Version : poker pro to trading

djack
02-19-2005, 06:40 AM
I've been a poker pro for about a year now (I quit my post-college job for reasons not relating to poker), but I'm thinking of getting a job trading. I've been successful playing poker, but for me it's not a career. I never meant to be pro this long, but the money is good and the hours are great. Still, sitting in front of my dual monitors 8tabling shorthanded games is absolutely not what I want to do with the rest of my life.

I've spent alot of time thinking about what I want to do and what matches my skills: trading. I'm in Houston, so energy trading seems like a natural fit. I went to Rice and did pretty well, so I imagine I'll be able to find a job (though if anyone wants to offer an interview...).

Random thoughts:
1. Should I mention poker on my resume? Traders tend to like successful gamblers. Paluka mentioned in another thread that his hedge fund even requires 2+2 books. Still, poker isn't on my resume now, because I think there is still a certain stigma.

2. Should I mention poker during the interview? After a first impression, people can be more forgiving. I think if I mention poker, this is where I would do so.

3. Successful poker players who decide to get "real" jobs is probably a relatively recent phenomenon. Sure, folks have always done it (eg, Roy Cooke), but the total numbers must be much higher these days.

Sklansky has mentioned that he was offered a job in the past couple years by a trading firm. I wonder how common it is for poker players to go into trading?

4. I may be taking a pay cut to get a "real" job, but I think my long-term EV is much higher. However, because th immediate pay will probably be lower, I've procrastinated about finding a job trading. It doesn't help that I hate looking for a job.