PDA

View Full Version : To Linux or not to Linux?

deacsoft
02-17-2005, 10:37 PM
I'm on the verge of purchasing a new computer set-up (the whole works). I've heard a ton of good things about linux, but I know nothing about operating it. I'm wondering if it would be worth my time to learn about it. I'm a sharp guy and pick up new things quickly, but I'm slightly limited as to free time currently. So I ask... is linux worth it? And what can you tell me about it?

seahawktd
02-17-2005, 11:26 PM
stick with windows. Linux is better suited for servers and stuff like that.

obeythekitten
02-17-2005, 11:38 PM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

wow, awesome ignorance.

personally i would get one of the MANY linux distros that wont write anything to your HD and can be booted straight from a cd to get a good feel for it before jumping into making the switch

imported_Chuck Weinstock
02-17-2005, 11:48 PM
I've no experience with the Linux desktop software, so
perhaps I shouldn't answer this question. But my answer
is that "it depends". It doesn't depend so much in your
ability to pick things up as it does on your computer
background I think. If your prior experience with computers
is pretty much limited to Windows, Linux may prove too big
a leap (but, again, I have no experience with the desktop
software for Linux.)

I use a Mac personally, and I love the fact that I can run
most Unix software on a platform that is significantly
more user friendly than the unixes I grew up on.

Chuck

illunious
02-17-2005, 11:56 PM
For a poker system? Hell no.

Mars357
02-17-2005, 11:57 PM
I work for the company that owns SuSE.