PDA

View Full Version : My First NL Hand: Good Ol' Pocket Jacks

bobbyi
02-17-2005, 02:25 PM
Howdy all. I am a long time (well, relatively) limit holdem player, currently playing mainly b&m 20/40. I have decided to augment my live play with some online gaming, and I have decided that as long as I'm playing online, I'll also try to pick up some new games like NLHE and PLO. I have very little experience with NL, so I'm starting with the $25 tables on Party and hoping to work my way up (I'm thinking that the smaller-stacked games on Party are better for now as I would perfer something simpler while I'm learning the game, and maybe I'll try a site with 100 BB stacks once I have some more experience). I played my first session this morning and I hope you will help me by giving some comments on the following hand. It is a very basic straight-forward hand, but I want to do a check-up that my thinking in this sort of situation is solid.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $.50 BB (9 handed)

saw flop|<font color="#C00000">saw showdown</font>

<font color="#C00000">Button ($18.25)</font>
<font color="#C00000">Hero ($34.85)</font>
BB ($25.9)
UTG ($36.45)
UTG+1 ($21)
MP1 ($27.35)
MP2 ($31.5)
MP3 ($12.3)
<font color="#C00000">CO ($139.37)</font>

Preflop: Hero is SB with J/images/graemlins/spade.gif, J/images/graemlins/heart.gif. Hero posts a blind of $0.25.
<font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, MP1 calls $0.50, <font color="#666666">2 folds</font>, Button calls $0.50, Hero (SB) completes, BB checks.

Thoughts: My call here is standard, right? As a limit HE player, it feels a bit weak to just call with jacks, but I figure that queens is the smallest pair I should be raising against limpers from the blinds in NL. Yes? Also raise AK? And nothing else?

Flop: ($2) 5/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 8/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 4/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="#0000FF">(5 players)</font>
<font color="#CC3333">Hero bets $2</font>, BB folds, MP1 calls $2, Button calls $2.