PDA

View Full Version : Famous first words

Perseus
02-17-2005, 12:01 AM
Well this works.

I decided today that I would like to start learning Omaha/8. To date, I have very little experience and only know the basic fundamentals of winning. In fact, I'm playing right now for only the 4-5th time in my life.

So the always great first noob question of the day is...what's the best literature out there for Omaha/8 limit and PL. Thank you to all who reply instead of snickering at my newness /images/graemlins/grin.gif

Thanks all

TheShootah
02-17-2005, 12:04 AM
I don't know about PL, because I really don't like non-limit O8, but of course Ray Zee's book is really really good. Also, the SS2 section on O8 has some good stuff in it also. I think the book on O8 by Cappeletti has some stuff on PL though, but I haven't read my copy in a while, recognizing that Zee's book rocks the house.

Runner Runner
02-17-2005, 12:19 AM
Ray Zee's book and Cappeletti's book are great for limit O8. There aren't any books that discuss PL in detail, but you can get information here, at RGP or at Steve Badger's site, I think it's playwinningpoker.com

BradleyT
02-17-2005, 12:32 AM
Also, all of mike cap's articles on Card Player website - and Roth S(Slothenbloom or something) has articles about o/8 PLo/8 too.

Moneyline
02-17-2005, 12:40 AM
I think the first book you want to get is Super System 2. After that High Low Split Poker For Advanced Players will fill in some of the gaps (especially for tight games). If you get really interested in the game you'll also want to check out Cappelletti's book and Bill Boston's book. Those books have, IMO, some bad advice is spots, but if you're able to seperate the good from the bad they will help you quite a bit. Finally, Steve Badger's website www.playwinningpoker.com (http://www.playwinningpoker.com) has a few good articles, especially pertaining to very loose games, and the 2+2 "Other Poker" archives have a wealth of information.

lighterjobs