PDA

View Full Version : My AK/AQ ain't hitting at 32.4% -- normal?

randomfish
02-16-2005, 02:19 PM
I just ran a query on 11,000 hands in PokerTracker. Turns out I've been dealt AK a total of 129 times, but have hit at least one A or K a total of 37 times, for a 28.7% hit percentage. For AQ it's a mere 32/135 or 23.7%.

If I'm dealing cards to myself, my unpaired hands should hit at least a pair around 32.4% of the time, right? So is the difference due to sample size, or because those times I get called when I raise AK/AQ preflop my opponents are more likely to hold some of my cards, or something else?

I'm curious because if this abnormal and I really should hit around 32% of the time, is this a sign that I'm getting cold-decked?

meanjean
02-16-2005, 03:00 PM
I'm no expert but I think you're going to hear that your sample size is still too small. What do you need to hit? 3 or 4 in a row to get back to average?

Peter-23
02-16-2005, 05:16 PM
You could count 32.4% of the times you didn't see a flop as a hit and see where you get.

TEKEE
03-02-2005, 12:52 PM
ACCORDING TO THE BOOK WRITTEN BY KEN WARREN AK WILL MISS FLOP 75% OF THE TIME.

k_squared
03-02-2005, 02:51 PM
[ QUOTE ]

[/ QUOTE ]

not knowing exactly what Ken Warren said, I can't say he is just plain wrong... but your characterization of what he said is wrong. You will not hit an ace or a king ~67.6%of the time, meaning that you will hit at least an ace or a king on the flop 32.4% of the time... although this does not count times when you hit flushes or straights... So, Ken Warren is either oversimplifying, or you are oversimplifying what he said.