PDA

View Full Version : golf excercise questions

M2d
09-02-2002, 11:03 PM
I haven't played much this summer, so it's been a throwaway season for me. About a month ago, i started playing a bit again, and was horrified at how badly I play. I had my index down to about 11, but it's zoomed up to 16 in the past year (no time to hit the range).
Anyway, my life should get a lot easier next year, when I finish grad school, so I'm already planning on hitting the links hard next summer. With that in mind, I decided to shelve my woods for the rest of the season. I don't even put them in my bag at the range.
I see a couple of benefits to this. First, I'll be forced to hit my long irons more consistantly. As with most mid to high handicappers, the long irons are a sore spot.
Second, I'll learn more course management. I hit it pretty long in general, so, if my driver's on, most par fours (up to 440 or so yards) are driver, wedge, or less. Now, I have to actually pay attention to landing areas, and other goodies like that.

Third, and most importantly, my index should go up without sandbagging. I post the honest number that I score, I carry 14 clubs, I play legal clubs. nothing underhaded about the way I get the score at all. Nothing in the rules of golf dictates that i have to carry woods.

Now for the good part. For the past three weeks that i've done this, my irons only scores have fallen about eight strokes, as I get more used to playing smart. I actually shot my handicap yesterday, (easy course, but it's a start) on a short track (6200 yards).

To all the golfers out there (HDPM, Pokerbabe (aka), etc: Is this a good idea? Will I fall in love with the "click" of my two iron and never go back to the "ping" of my woods? is it ethical to raise my handicap this way?

HDPM
09-06-2002, 12:13 AM