PDA

View Full Version : Relocating/working abroad for a length of time

PanchoVilla
02-15-2005, 07:11 PM
Has anyone from the US ever done this? I have a college degree in Engineering and about 7 years exp. I was wondering how hard it is to get authorization to work in another country and live there for like a year or so. Somewhere like the UK, Germany, France, Italy, etc. If anyone has done this or has any suggestions for the practicality of it can you share it. Thanks.

Pancho

Patrick del Poker Grande
02-15-2005, 07:18 PM
Sorry I don't have much of anything useful to add except to say that I do have a good friend from France who went to grad school with me at Michigan and now has a job in Japan. One thing you might consider is that foreign companies generally don't pay as well as American ones do. I think the general concensus is that it's best if you can get a job with an American company that'll send you abroad if that's what you want to do. This way, you tend to get the American pay scale.

Boris
02-15-2005, 07:37 PM
Join the Peace Corps hombre.

KJS
02-15-2005, 08:10 PM
I lived and worked in Thailand for 1.5 years recently. Didn't have a job when I left, just a backpack. Finding a job was not too difficult. But I worked for a magazine that could not supply with me a proper visa, so I was a little at risk renewing my tourist visa every month or so. I would recommend looking at multinationals that might have offices in the countries you are interested in. The immigration web sites for the countries will also provide you with information on who is eligible for what types of visa. I am sure you could find a headhunter in the EU somewhere if you look online. A good one could give you all the info you need. There may even be one just for engineers. Good luck. I'm sure you can do it.

KJS

stabn
02-15-2005, 08:17 PM