PDA

View Full Version : websites at work?

soundgarden4
02-15-2005, 12:44 PM
I'm an analyst for a healthcare company and it is beyond boring. Some days I literally have nothing to do, so I screw around on the internet. The problem is my cubicle is literally right outside my boss' door, so he can see my computer screen from his desk.

I was wondering if there are any websites that I could browse that would look like I'm doing research from my boss' point of view. Magazine websites, online articles or online books or anything that can be remotely interesting for a few hours a day, EVERY DAY. 2+2 is somewhat acceptable, but with all the avatars, the green strip on the side, and smiley faces and stuff I can't leave it up there for too long. Thanks for the help.

kevin

Patrick del Poker Grande
02-15-2005, 12:54 PM
You could disable avatars and BBB code.

stantheman
02-15-2005, 12:59 PM
Privacy filter (http://www.officeworld.com/Worlds-Biggest-Selection/MMMPF400XL/05Q1/)

Tell your boss you need it to prevent screen glare. You will be able to surf all day, every day undetected. It's pricey, but worth every penny.

soundgarden4
02-15-2005, 01:31 PM
How do I disable the BBB code?

With respect to the privacy filter, I'm quitting this job in 3 months, so I wouldn't want to spend the money. On top of that, I don't think I could convince my boss to let that thing anywhere near my computer. Thanks anyways.

kevin

B00T
02-15-2005, 01:40 PM
if you are leaving your job, who gives a crap if your boss sees you putzin around

soundgarden4
02-15-2005, 02:33 PM
Because there's a big difference between quitting my job and getting fired. Getting fired from your first "real" out of college job would not look good on the resume...But that is the thought process I take when reading 2+2. If he sees me reading it every once in a while no big deal.

prrthd
02-15-2005, 06:32 PM