PDA

View Full Version : Bad bad forum format

09-02-2002, 02:17 AM
Don't mess with success. The enemy of the good is the better. Leave well enough alone. Can't change a winning team. You gotta delay entropy. Etcetera. What other cliches are out there?

I hope it's clear that the new format absolutely, positively sucks. It's user-hostile, disorienting, prohibiting a global & quick view of threads and tough as hell to navigate. As a web veteran, I foresee its quick demise or, if the webmasters are stubborn, a sharp drop in contributions.

09-02-2002, 09:36 AM
yeah, and those damn ford model "T"s will never catch on either...

09-02-2002, 01:44 PM

Rick Nebiolo
09-02-2002, 02:01 PM
Cyrus,

We should take some time to get used to it before making an evaluation. Most of us are resistant to change and tend to dismiss what is new or changed. Over time, the new forum format and software may prove to be much better (or may not).

OTOH, I’d be very happy if I never saw another woman in hip hugger jeans with a too- short top and have had plenty of time to ponder this one. Anyone who is slim enough to look good in that would look even better in classic high-waisted jeans with her top covering her abdomen. I had to go the mall last week and almost blew my lunch at all the exposed flab. What are they thinking, or is “Jerry Springer” setting styles these days.

Call me old-fashioned!

Rick

Clarkmeister
09-02-2002, 02:07 PM
Rick, I agree.

It is clearly more powerful, and the ability to view the entire thread at once ala RGP is a huge time saver. In fact, while its taking a bit to get used to right now, it seems to be significantly more powerful than the old software. My only beef is that I wish there was a FAQ or primer somewhere. But I think this is a good long-term upgrade.

09-02-2002, 03:35 PM