PDA

View Full Version : taxes

08-30-2002, 09:33 AM
ive been clearing 50 to 100 dollars a night play ing low limit holdem onine. Every now and again i have to withdraw money from my poker funds, and it seems to be adding up. Should i be afraid of the IRS or any taxes that may be owed because of these transactions?

08-30-2002, 10:21 AM
Yes, you must pay taxes. Go to next IRS-Office and pay them off. Better you don't make them come to you ! I think they even take cash theese days.

08-30-2002, 11:42 AM
Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer or accountant. What I am about to post represents my own, possibly uninformed opinion.

There are two questions here.

1. Do I legally owe taxes on my poker winnings?

Absolutely. Under the wonderful tax laws of our great nation, your net winnings for any tax year are subject to income tax.

2. Can I get away with not paying taxes on my poker winnings?

This is a little more dicey. As far as I know, online poker sites do not report cashouts to the IRS. However, since you get the money in the form of an electronic transfer or a check, there is a record of your receipt of the money which could be found in an audit. One advantage of B&M cardrooms is that your buyins and cashouts are usually in cash. Unless you hit a jackpot, or buy in or cash out for more than $10,000 dollars, there is no audit trail. If you withdraw $200 dollars in cash, play poker and spend $500 dollars in cash. There is no way the IRS can prove it. I will let others debate whether this is ethical.

08-30-2002, 12:33 PM
i just made a 200 withdrawal into my paypal account. I used 150 to open an account at partyP. and 50 went toward buying books. The money never even saw my bank account. Am i required to pay on that too? Help. So much confusion.

08-30-2002, 02:35 PM
It really is not too difficult to figure this stuff out.

First thing you must have is a "Source Document"

ie, ledger. Preferablly a manual one with a hard cover.