PDA

View Full Version : Party Poker... worth trying?

snapfc01
02-14-2005, 02:44 AM
hey guys... i'm pretty new to playing sngs and have been reading this form non stop for probably 3 weeks. it seems like everyone plays at Party Poker. I have not played anywhere other then Poker Stars and was wondering if i should check out party poker. i know it would be a change going from a 1500 starting stack to 800... but i've heard it's easier there and wanted to know what everyone could tell me about it. i mostly play 10+1 sngs if that changes anything.

thanks
Gerard

Drac
02-14-2005, 02:49 AM
The 10+1's are a freaking cash machine. Even during the day they're incredibly soft and at night...wow. You will get some crazy ass bad beats that make absolutely no sense at all (gut shots calling all in's and sending you down the river) but in the end it's all good.

AtticusFinch
02-14-2005, 03:00 AM
[ QUOTE ]
I have not played anywhere other then Poker Stars and was wondering if i should check out party poker.

[/ QUOTE ]

Party is more profitable because it's much softer, but I must warn you. Many players lose their a$$es when first making the switch, because the style of play you need to succeed is vastly different at party, not only because of the structure, but because of the different caliber of players. I personally had great success at Stars 20 and 30 tourneys, but when I moved to Party, I got absolutely murdered at first.

Some advice when you first switch. Don't follow these forever, but they are a good policy to use while making the adjustment.

1) Don't bluff. EVER. Don't even semi-bluff.
2) Read number 1 again. I mean it.
3) Lean toward the higher end of your raising range PF. That means if you normally raise 4-5 BBs with a particular hand, usually raise 5.
4) If there is an ace on the flop, and you don't have an ace, usually check/fold.