PDA

View Full Version : A 2+2 success story (long)

gumpzilla
02-12-2005, 01:05 AM
Hi, everybody. I've been lurking here for a couple of months and have enjoyed the content quite a bit. I've been playing online for six months, primarily $20 NL SNGs at Paradise with the occasional NL ring game, MTT or limit draw ring game thrown in. I tend to employ a slightly different strategy than seems to be commonly recommended here for early SNG play, where I play a lot of fit-or-fold kind of hands early on if the opportunity arises.

Tonight, however, I decided to employ the super-tight early strategy in extremis to make a phone call, having decided that the emotional state I was in without the phone call was not really conducive to good poker anyway. The pace of play seemed to be pretty slow, so I hit the Post & Fold button about 5 hands in and made my call. Much to my surprise, I returned to find four players left at Level 6 (100/200), with myself at 230 chips and UTG with a hand in
progress. I'd imagined that I'd have a little more breathing room. To my amazement, two players got in on the 9TK two-tone flop, one of them with a stack of about 12 BBs and the other about twice that. One had QJ, the other had TT. Sadly, TT covered QJ and the boat didn't come, so I prepared myself to be blinded out.

What followed really deserves hand histories, if for no other reason than to capture the reactions of the table, but the hand history email is slow in coming and I have yet to join the ranks of the PokerTracker masses. So I'll just paint the general picture:

BB (me): T4
button calls (?), SB folds, I push my last 30, button flips over K7
board: Q T T blank T

next hand:
SB (me) : KQs
UTG limps, button folds, I push for 330 more, BB calls,
UTG folds.
BB : A4o
flop : Q Q 4
me: quads?
turn : Q
me: quads.
BB: <expletive deleted>

Up to 1.2k now. Next hand:

button (me): QJs

Folded to me. I push. SB calls with TT, BB folds.
board: 9 8 8 8 J