PDA

View Full Version : school entrepreneurial contest

Aicirt
02-09-2005, 09:34 PM
Im a college student and have been gaining some interest in investing and have done some research on it although it has been fairly minimal. Today I recieved an email sent to all the students at my massive (1300 student /images/graemlins/tongue.gif) school informing us of an entrepreneurial contest. Basically they are going to give three students $100 and we can invest this money for 4 weeks. The original $100 and any profits will then be donated to charity. I figured this would be an excellent way to get my feet wet in investing.

I have until February 16th to submit a paragraph on how I plan to invest this $100, and then the top 3 plans will get actually get the opportunity to invest the $100 for four weeks.

Since Im an extreme novice here, I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions on what I should do here. Im open to any and all suggestions.

Thank you very much for any info you can provide.

Aicirt

icetonez
02-09-2005, 10:19 PM
With $100? I would suggest .50/1 hold 'em.

Deathbear
02-09-2005, 10:43 PM
Enron stock is the only option.

Miguel__Sanchez
02-10-2005, 12:52 AM
What a horrible way to teach someone about investing. 4 weeks to make as much money as possible?

I'm guessing you can't short MSO or something. If you're looking to *win* the contest, you'll need to basically hit the jackpot. Find a stock with momentum (like TASR from last year) and dump your money in there. I'm guessing the winning portfolio will have at least a 200-300% increase. If you want a good starting point, try the stocks with 100% 12-month relative strength (http://tinyurl.com/65g6c [msn stock screener]) and randomly pick one. Hope that it continues its rise.

If you can buy/sell as much as you want without commission, look up which biotech stocks have FDA approval decisions coming up, buy them the day before and hope its good news. Hit 4-5 right in a row and you could double your money.