PDA

View Full Version : A couple of AQ hands

JARID
02-08-2005, 01:06 PM
I think these are actually short stack questions that both happen to involve AQ. Advice on a preferable line of play is appreciated.

Hand #1

Blinds 25/50

Villan - 2000; I am new to the table, but we collided immediately, I had him pegged as a bit of a calling station.
Hero - 650
Button - 1500

Pre-flop: Villain min raises UTG+2 to t100, Hero calls t100 with AQo, and button calls t100. Everyone else folds.

Flop: Q /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 8 /images/graemlins/club.gif 5 /images/graemlins/spade.gif (t375)

Villian bets t250.

Is it too clever for me to just call here? With my stack and this flop I was comfortable playing this to the end, why not try to get more chips?

Hand #2

Again, new table. Seen about 1 1/2
orbits.
Blinds 25/50

UTG: t12000; I had seen some bullying, as well as excessive ep limping(K4s, etc.)
UTG+1: t2500; Seems reasonable
Hero in CO: t800

Pre-flop: UTG limps, UTG+1 raises to t225, folded to hero with AQ /images/graemlins/spade.gif.

Anticipating that UTG will call here, do I have enough to take a flop? I would fold AQo quite easilly here.

Thanks-

Jarid

kuro
02-08-2005, 01:56 PM
Hand #1: You generally don't want to play a hand like AQo multiway and your stack is too small to give you many options on the flop. A standard reraise of utg would pot commit you. So you want to either push or fold based on your read of what the minraise means and on the likelihood of someone yet to act calling your push with a dominating hand. Your position is unclear, but I'd probably lean towards pushing.

Hand #2: It's the same as hand 1. You've got to push or fold. With a short stack, you can't splash around hoping to hit the flop. I'd push. AQo is a push for me here too. At 8xbb you just can't wait for a much better spot.

SossMan
02-08-2005, 02:10 PM