PDA

View Full Version : $3 tourneys.... good practice?

snapfc01
02-08-2005, 12:27 AM
hey... i'm new to playing online mtt's. started playing sngs about two months ago... 10+1 on stars... doing pretty well.. have a lot of live experience and have read about every 2+2 book along with tons of others. however i have a limited bankroll for online(started with 50 and up to about 200 from playing sngs...i have a decent size bank roll offline however i'd like to keep that for live games i regularly play). i'm fine playing 10+1 sngs on a relatively short bank roll b/c i have a high itm % however i know that won't be true for mtt's. so i was thinking about getting practice by playing the really low buy in ($1 or $3 mtt on pokerstars). but after thinking that i was worried about how much if any those will teach me... are they much like a freeroll mtt would be since it is such a low buy in? are they worth playing or just a lot of people using the push/pray method u see in the $5.50 sngs and play money mtt. any input here would be great... even if it is to wait til i have a larger bankroll then play the $10 mtt.

thanks alot
Gerard

Pepsquad
02-08-2005, 12:40 AM
Yes. They would good practice. But I play $1-$10 MTT's on U.B. I can honestly say that even though you see poorer play at these limits than at the higher limits, it is not just "push-n-pray". You'll find most of your opponents are at least trying to play correctly.

Che
02-08-2005, 12:41 AM
snapfc01-

I learned how to play with the $1-$3 Stars MTT's, and things are going pretty well for me so far. /images/graemlins/cool.gif

(Note: I added $5 sng's after I got comfortable with the MTT's so I went in the opposite direction of what you're doing. I still have never played live.)