PDA

View Full Version : Schoonmaker and Economics (long)

jrz1972
02-07-2005, 03:07 PM
I've read Psychology of Poker and both of Schoonmaker's magazine articles. In a very general sense, I agree with the basic points he makes in each of those (people play poker for a variety of reasons; we shouldn't stigmatize competition; people tend to oversimplify things).

I earned my PhD in economics in 1998, with a specialization in industrial organization. I currently teach that subject and general microeconomic theory at a midwestern university. Schoonmaker's February column is the second time he takes a particular, miguided swipe at this discipline. Many people who have only a passing familiarity with economics and/or who were poorly taught in college pick up the impression that economists make a lot of wacky and rigid assumptions about how people/firms behave and thus think that economic models are worthless since they're based on such obviously "unrealistic" assumptions. A poker forum is hardly the right place to play "stick up for your discipline", though, so my initial instinct was just to let this go. (Although I have to wonder why somebody with a doctorate would feel so free to critique a discipline he obviously doesn't know much about).

Anyway, the more I thought about it, the more I realized that economic methodology actually supports Al's point, so maybe I can actually add something useful to his argument while correcting his misunderstanding of economics along the way.