PDA

View Full Version : tell based limit hold em or "I AM MIKE L. AND DONT F*CK WITH ME!"

mike l.
02-05-2005, 05:43 PM
people have told me that i should play no limit and avoid online because im good at reading players and situations. that said, im oftentimes left tapping the table at the showdown after making it 4 bets on the river with a busted 6 high against the guy with the second nuts. so which is it? expert or sham? i, my friends, now present to you exhibit one.

40-80 hand. the opponent is a self taught mediocre at best guy who owns a bunch of liquor stores. he fancies himself some sort of a playa but he doesnt have any moves or anything, he's a dork.

he raises utg+2 like this: he smiles at the dealer really noticeably and cocky like and points his thumb towards the ceiling and says almost wistfully "raise it up". i decide at that moment he doesnt have a big hand, he's full of shiit, he's putting on an act. so i show him where to stick his thumb by 3 betting from the cutoff with A9o. blinds clear the hell out of my way for a change and liquor boy calls.

the flop is KT7 nothing to do with me. part of me is thinking, gee would it kill ya to flop me two pair or something for once dear god, and the part that matters is thinking, gee i hope he checks so i can bet so he can fold. so he checks, i bet, and he..he...he..well he calls of course or this wouldnt be much of a post at all would it?

so the turn is another K. at that point im thinking, brilliant that will make it super easy for him to call me down now with 33 or whatever he has stupid cursed cards! damnit! why oh why did i ever come in to play today! F*CK! so the guy does this clumsy sort of stall a second, realise that im his opponent and i never have anything especially when im vomiting forth chips every chance i get (note to self: indeed i had nothing this hand again so they may be on to you), and then goes ahead and shows me NO RESPECT and bets his ugly ass right into my pot.