PDA

View Full Version : SNGs -- Skill or Formula?

Mynok
02-04-2005, 12:32 PM
I've been reading quite a bit of posts recently and in the archives about achievable ROIs for SNGs. My own sample size is very small, so I won't bother talking about my ROI at this point. What I'm curious about is the whole notion of skill in these things. I know this topic has come up in a variety of forms in the past, so I hope people don't mind revisisting it.

In my more cynical moments I think I could teach a total newbie the "correct" strategy for these SNGs by putting a few basic guidelines on a 3X5 card: play tight first few levels; okay to see some flops cheaply with speculative hands like suited connectors or small pairs; in mid levels crank up the aggression and in later levels play super aggressively. I know there are nuances to all this and things like the gap concept to take into account. And obviously a total newbie wouldn't *really* be able to play well consulting a 3X5 card. But...come on, especially on party's structure, if you have the basics down and some experience and you've read a few books and things like Aleomagus' guide and so on...how many skill levels are there really? Am I missing something? Seems to me that in the 240 or so 10+1 games I have played a clear pattern emerges: play tight early, sometimes hit a monster, most times don't; start stealing more and playing more aggressively when blinds are 50/100 and/or there are 6 people or less. At this point I'll either build a really nice stack, or a fall to a really dangerous one. You all know the drill.

Doesn't the fact that many people on this forum play 4 or 8 tables at a time signify that playing these things is the application of a formula? You can't really get reads on people when you're playing 40-80 other people simultaneously.